Five 2020 Barbara Holston Scholars Announced

By September 1, 2020Uncategorized

The Barbara Holston Education Fund has awarded five $1,000 scholarships to FWHS program participants who are pursuing higher education or vocational training on their path to self-sufficiency.

The fund was established in honor of Barbara Holston, who served as senior executive of the Fort Worth Housing Authority, FWHS’ predecessor, for 23 years.

The 2020 winners are:

  • Mercedes Ayala, Texas Wesleyan University
  • Rafael Escobedo, Tarrant County College
  • Sstephanee Garrison-Shelton, Tarleton State University
  • Denym Greer, Texas A&M Commerce
  • Taejah Odom, Texas Wesleyan University

BHEF Scholarships cover educational expenses such as tuition, books, course fees, supplies, course equipment and materials. The awards help FWHS residents overcome financial barriers that can deter them from post-secondary education.

Since its inception, the Barbara Holston Education Fund has awarded more than $15,000 in scholarship funds to help participants increase their academic and vocational achievements. Scholarships are supported solely by contributions to the Fund, a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

Make a one-time or recurring gift to the Barbara Holston Education Fund today! Visit to help housing clients pursue their educational and vocational dreams.

For more information, email BHEF President Nicole Rubio at